Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Jodhaa Akbar

I must admit that I haven’t watched a Bollywood film in years, and when I have, the theme has always been the same – good triumphs evil and lots of singing and dancing! So, when I was at home with my family at Christmas, my eyes rolled when my mum said that she wanted to watch an Indian film that apparently had won lots of awards. As I rarely get to spend much time with my parents, I thought what the heck I’ll sit and watch it with them, but had a book by the side of the sofa just incase 🙂

Jodhaa Akbar is a sixteenth century love story between Jalaluddin Muhammad Akbar (known as Akbar the Great) widely considered to be the greatest of the Mughal emperors, and his Hindu wife Jodhabai.

When Akbar won the allegiance of the Rajputs, in order to further strengthen relations, the King offered him his daughter to marry, Jodha, a fiery Rajput princess. Jodhaa initially resented the political marriage of convenience; she was strong to her faith and continued to practice her religion and was clear to point this out to Akbar. Akbar allowed her to practice Hinduism despite protestations by his Muslim entourage. The film revolves around Akbar’s challenge to win the love of Jodhaa. Of course there are people who try their best to spoil things between them, but lo and behold they get there in the end!

I never thought that I’d sit through the whole film, but it was a pleasure to watch. The actors, Hrithik Roshan (plays Akbar) and Aishwarya Rai (plays Jodhaa) were not only pleasing to the eye but superb. I can only imagine that this film must have cost a lot to make…

My mum & dad enjoyed it soo much that I bought it off Amazon for them to add to their collection of films.

1 Comment»

  Garry Wright wrote @

Maybe this started as a review of a movie, but there is a lovely little story within. Read it again and try and capture all the things that you have said about your life,family and cultural origins. This is a great little read.


Leave a Reply

