Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

J Brand’s 23110 Maria in Starless & Citizens of Humanity Thompson in Tempted

My love of high-waisted jeans hasn’t faded. Skinny high-rise styles are perfect for teaming with ankle or knee high boots. I recently tried J Brand’s Maria style (in Clocker) and Citizens of Humanity’s Thompson in Black in Selfridges. Both styles fit true to size on me, although J Brand is more fitted around the waist than Citizens… Unfortunately, Selfridges didn’t have the colourways I wanted, so will have to buy online – soo happy that shopbop.com offer free international shipping within 3 days (although you may still be liable for taxes)…

J Brand 23110 Maria in Starless ($189). Classic high-rise skinny leg that is sexy and comfortable. Power Stretch Denim is an extraordinarily smooth fabric that hugs and shapes your body.

Citizens of Humanity Thompson Tempted ($161). These dark-rinse skinny jeans feature 5-pocket styling and a single-button closure. 11″ leg opening. Very mild distressing. Image from shopbop.com

 I finally succumed to purchasing a pair of J Brand’s Maria in Starless wash after reading a post by a lady called Savannah on the denimology website, click below for more pictures and review:

J Brand’s Maria Starless review denimology

Although you can buy these off the J Brand website, I chose shopbop.com – I have to say I absolutely love their customer service, I got my jeans within 3 days (you can chose the free shipping option and then you’re responsible for paying your customs duties after, or I opted for their new global service where you pre-pay an amout for custom duties and if this is less than what you originally pre-paid, you will be refunded the difference).

Buy J Brand Maria Jeans here from shopbop.com

As for the jeans itself, I’m a 25 and it fit true-to-size as expected. The fit is like that of a legging except that the material is thin (I wish it was thicker like Citizens Avedon), the starless wash is a dark, dressier denim colour.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

