Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Abercrombie & Finch (Burlington Gardens) – Shopping Hell!

I absolutely love shopping but this store put me off! I recently stumbled across the Abercrombie & Finch website and saw a few things that I liked, but was shocked at the £20 shipping cost (which includes customs & duties tax). I noticed that they had a store in London, located just off the prestigious Saville Row.

A friend pre-warned me that I may have to queue outside as the store is very popular, but luckily I was able to walk-in where there were two security guards at the entrance. On entry it felt like a nightclub, dark and very crowded, I really didn’t know where I was going. Navigating around with people constantly bumping into me was irritating, and yes, the women assistants looked young and wore lots of makeup and short skirts, and one male assistant definitely looked like a typical model – but all seemed rather vacant and unhelpful.

Music blasting, dark lighting (how am I supposed to see the clothes properly!), and worst of all, the awful strong perfume which I found not only overwhelming but my hair smelled of it afterwards.

As you may have noticed I don’t rate the store, but I ended up leaving and ordered off their website. The shirts and knitwear are of good quality, but I don’t really like the majority of their clothes which are overly branded.

Conversely, I pay a lot for my J Brand jeans, which are precisely the opposite to Abercrombie; no-one would have a clue what brand the jeans are because there’s no visible label or wording.

Personally, I’d rather spend the £20 delivery charge for ordering online than have to step into that store again!

Check out my review of Abercrombie – I am kensingtonabida – on Qype

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

