Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Beauty Products Worth Buying

1. Happy Hair Days blueberry & pair shampoo & conditioner

As of a couple of weeks ago, I had faithfully been using Clairol’s range of Herbal Essences shampoo’s & conditioner’s for years. However I strayed when I spotted a new brand called Happy Hair Days whilst doing my weekly shop. They have a few different varieties to choose from, but I went for the smoothing blueberry & pear. The shampoo and conditioner bottles are simply packaged and I liked reading that their formulations are gentle and contain no parabens or sulphates. After being tempted by the wording on their bottles ‘Try me, I smell gorgeous!’, I took a sneaky sniff, and boy did it smell divine. I’ve been using both the shampoo and conditioner for a few weeks now and am hooked, my hair is smooth & smells gorgeous and the bathroom equally so. I even bought some so I could take away with me on holiday. The cost is £3.60 for 300ml each for the shampoo and conditioner. It seems as if you can only purchase at Sainsburys.

2. Tangle Teezer

I hadn’t heard of the Tangle Teezer until my hairdresser at Aveda recommended that I buy one. For someone with long hair, I can sometimes find that it gets tangled after washing. Normally brushing tangles out can take time and be a little painful, however the tangle teezer is amazing. I bought the new compact version from Boots and have found that it tackles tangled hair quickly and painlessly. The compact version also makes it easier to pack when going away.

Compact Tangle Teezer, £11.99 at Boots

I was soo pleased with my purchase that I bought a colleagues daughter the tangle teezer magic flowerpot as an Xmas present. I remember when I was little being filled with dread when my mum would come and brush my ridiculously tangled hair. Looking at the feedback, it seems that lots of mothers have bought one especially for their daughters hair. 

Tangle Teezer Magic Flowerpot, Boots £12.99

 Buy both the compact tangle teezer & childrens tangle teezer magic flowerpot online from Boots.

3. Aveeno Hand Cream

Living in London with ‘hard’ water coupled with washing hands frequently, and indoor heating means that I find my hands can get dry. I’ve tried Dove’s intensive hand cream previously but wasn’t impressed, however I came across this in Sainsburys and it helps soothe my hands. This doesn’t irritate my skin, has a pleasant but slight oatmeal scent, doesn’t break the bank at £4.99, and most importantly moisturises my skin.

Aveeno Hand Cream, Boots or Sainsburys £4.99

4. Kiehl’s Nurturing Baby Cream for Face & Body

Although there are many beauty products on the market, few combine catering for sensitive skin and smelling divine. I occassionally pop into the Kiehl’s shop on Kings Road, and although this cream is supposed to be for babies, adults can also use this too 🙂 Gentle formulation that has been sensitivity tested and contains a blend of apricot kernal oil, glycerin, honey and infused with a blend of vanilla, apples, pears, and sweet berries – yummy!  

Kiehls Nurturing Baby Cream, £15.50 for 200ml

Buy from Kiehl’s website.

5. Estee Lauder Pleasures Body Powder

Months ago, for my birthday I got a lovely gift set of my favourite Estee Lauder perfume Pleasures, included was their body powder. I love dusting this powder on my neck and wrists before I get dressed, the blend of lilies, peonies, jasmine and exotic baie rose smells wonderful. It lasts for ages, but after recently running out found it difficult to locate until I found that John Lewis sells it online.

Estee Lauder Pleasures Dusting Powder, £18
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

