Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

The Hummingbird Bakery

So Sweet, originally uploaded by Nrbelex.

133 Portobello Road
Notting Hill, London
W11 2DY

http://hummingbirdbakery.com

I admit to having a bit of a ‘sweet tooth’ and love cakes 🙂 Seeing the above picture (taken by Nrbelex from Flickr of the hummingbird bakery’s Portobello Road shop) makes my mouth water.
The Hummingbird Bakery sells delicious pretty cupcakes as well as other cakes and pies. Their first shop was opened in 2004 in Portobello Road, then other shops followed in South Kensington & Soho – however, I stop off at the Portobello Road shop on occassion but haven’t visited the other two.
After recently viewing their website I noticed that they even deliver to certain (not all) postcodes of London. I’m not greedy enough/or would order enough cakes to neccesitate such a delivery cost, but I imagine this would be perfect if you were planning a big party/special occassion.
I decided that part of my New Year’s resolution is to cook more/become better at it. I’ve always wanted to learn how to bake properly (I’m even comtemplating doing a cookery course at night or the weekend), because there’s something rather nostalgic about the smell of baking, and the satisfaction of making something yourself – also I’m rather old-fashioned, and hope one day I’ll have kids and that they’ll be amazed by my baking skills 🙂
In the meantime, I’ve ordered myself the hummingbird bakery’s cookbook on Amazon for under ÂŁ10.
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

