Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Solgar Omega 3-6-9 – Fish, Flax & Borage Oils

Solgar Omega 3-6-9 Fish, Flax, Borage Oils

For the past year I’ve made some changes to my diet. Unfortunately, one of the recommendations for a healthy diet are two portions of oily fish a week. There’s no denying that oily fish is good you, but I really can’t stand the smell, texture or taste of it. I do however love Cod & Plaice and have them at least three times a week, but the Omega 3 fatty acids found in these non-oily fish are only small.

I don’t normally take supplements, but given this essential fatty acid short-fall in my diet, I decided that a supplement was in order. I did my research, and Solgar seemed like an excellent brand. I wanted a broad spectrum of essential fatty acids, so chose Solgar’s Omega 3-6-9 in the form of fish (EPA, DHA), flax (ALA) and Borage (GLA) oils.

From what I’ve read normally you should see positive changes from oral supplementation from these oils within 6 to 8 weeks. Honestly, I didn’t notice any difference that early on, however after consistently taking them (three capsules a day with a meal) for five months, I am now seeing the benefits. My skin is plumper, and really soft. I did read one review where someone complained on the size of the capsule, yes they are big, but as my doctor told me when I was little and was having trouble swallowing my tablets, he pointed out if I can swallow food, I can certainly swallow medicine, it’s just an irrational fear – he was right, I never feared swallowing again 🙂

Solgar is a pretty expensive brand in comparison to Boots own branded supplements, but now I am starting to see results and given that it’s likely that most people are deficient in those essential fatty acids (unless you’re a regular oily fish/flax seed eater) it’s definitely a good supplement to take long-term for the heart, joint and skin. I either buy mine from Planet Organic on Westbourne Grove or Calder Pharmacy on Notting Hill Gate.

I came acoss a great nutrition website written by Dr Alan Stewart that gives more information on essential fatty acids and their sources. I’ve wanted to see a good nutritionist for ages, he has a background in Medicine and his website is brilliantly comprehensive. I’m hoping to book an appointment at Biolab, to test my vitamin/mineral levels and see whether any further dietary improvements/or use of other suppplements need to be made. In the meantime, I’m sticking to my Solgar supplement…

More information on essential fatty acids

1 Comment»

  wartica wrote @

Never heard of Solgar before, but after reading this, I might have to give it a whirl:)

jonwatersauthor.com


Leave a Reply

