Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation 4.0

Mac Matchmaster Foundation

Mac Matchmaster Foundation

MAC Matchmaster shade 4.0

MAC Matchmaster shade 4.0

I’d been happily using Mac’s Select SPF 15 foundation for years after a long search for the right shade for my skintone. When I was a teenager, the better known beauty brands like Clinique, Estee Lauder and Chanel had a very limited range of shades – they were either too light or too dark. I noticed this has changed over the years, but at the time, I went to MAC as a makeup artist highly recommended them for catering for a variety of skin colours.

I was originally colour matched as NC40 (as I have yellow undertones) it seemed to match pretty well. A couple of months ago, I noticed that their Select foundation was being discontinued and replaced by their new technology foundation, Matchmaster, that according to MAC, ‘uses translucent pigments to enable a fully personalised finish influenced by the subtleties of your own skin’s undertone’. The shades range from 1.0 to 10.0, but they also do half shades but only 1.5, 7.5, 8.5 and 9.5 – wish they could do a 3.5!

I made the mistake of buying the Matchmaster on their website without going to a store and being colour matched. The chat facility is great, but the makeupartist said that NC40 in Select corresponds to shade 5.0 in the Matchmaster – there is in fact a table created by MAC that shows which NC and NW shades correspond to the Matchmaster shading system.

On opening shade 5.0, it was far too dark for me, I looked like I’d had a good holiday πŸ™‚ I liked the texture though, thicker than the runny Select, and applies easily with a normal foundation brush. It lasts all day for me, and I think it looks similar to Select to me, not too heavy or too light. I ended up going to Westfield and popped into the MAC store and the MUA agreed that the 5.0 was far too warm for me, she suggested I tried 4.0, but warned me that she’s not a massive fan of the Matchmaster and said that it can get darker the longer it’s left on, she thinks prolongwear is far better at getting a better match.

Anyway, the 4.0 is definitely an improvement on the 5.0, but I still think it looks a tad too dark, not noticeably so, but nonetheless, I may even try the 3.0 before getting another bottle just to see the difference. I do like the foundation though, perfect for daywear, and the built-in pump controls the amount of foundation you want.

I was very much happy with my Select in NC40, I do dislike it when my favourite products get discontinued 😦

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

