Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

I finally feel like Abi again :)

Two years ago, I was in a really bad way, so ill that I was close to dying, at times I didn’t think I’d get back to being me. A fantastic doctor managed to return me to full health, it’s been a long journey though. I certainly appreciate life more. Tears, cuddles, strength of character and the kindness of good friends, family, my bosses and even strangers managed to get me there. I feel like I’ve got a second chance to do something meaningful and good with my life, inspired by my uncle who still wanted to have his face shaved despite having terminal cancer and being close to someone that had facial disfigurement; both seemed to just get on with things. Wish I was more like them. I’m not the only one that notices the difference, a number of people have randomly commented on how healthy I’m looking, and I’ve been getting lots of cuddles off people that are happy to see me smile again. Never want to go back to that dark place ever!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

