Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Hand-Made Cath Kidston Woodland Rose 50’s Style Dress

Hand-made in the UK - Cath Kidston Woodland Rose Dress

Hand-made in the UK – Cath Kidston Woodland Rose Dress

Hand Made Cath Kidston Dress

Hand Made Cath Kidston Dress

My first boss introduced me to Cath Kidston eight years ago, he said I’d like her designs, knowing that I love anything floral! He took me to their first shop on Clarendon Cross (Holland Park), which closed down, but relocated to Portobello Road. Ever since then, I’ve been a devoted fan 🙂

A few months ago, I was taken with their Woodland Rose print. Their cotton duck fabric is supposed to be used for making cushion covers, curtains, upholstering furniture, tea towels. It didn’t mention use for clothes making, but I thought I’d give it a go, and see what happens. I wanted to create a 50’s style dress, sweet heart neckline, circle skirt and a midi-length. I approximated 2.5 metres of fabric would be required, but given that you can’t purchase half-metres, I had to buy 3 metres (total cost £60).

I was worried that if the dress didn’t turn out as expected, that would be £60 down the drain! Luckily, the measurements I took were accurate, and I also took into account that this fabric can shrink slightly in the wash. I loved my own unique dress, with piping around the bodice, grey lining and elbow-length sleeves, although I should have made the sleeves longer (three quarters) that’s my only regret. In terms of washing, the material is fine and dries well. The print is gorgeous!

Woodland Rose Cotton Duck Print

Woodland Rose Cotton Duck Print

Cath Kidston Woodland Rose Cotton Duck Dress

Cath Kidston Woodland Rose Cotton Duck Dress

I wore it to work but it took longer to make than anticipated, so I needed to wear tights with it. This is more of a Summer’s dress, especially with the sleeve-length. My colleagues were impressed, although they didn’t like my choice of lipstick, Chanel Rouge Velvet in L’eclatante (42), it was far too bright for them, but I was trying to match the tiny pink flowers on the dress – men!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

