Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Quora Question: Life Lessons: What are one or two sentences that someone has told you that changed your life (for the better)?

It was something that my first boss said to me. He was an old school gent, married to his wife for twenty years, and they had four children. We worked together for a couple of years, I had tremendous respect for him. One thing I admired was his love for his wife. He would phone her at least twice during the day for a chat to see how she was, referring to her as lovely 🙂

His wife once came into our office, for a woman in her forties who had four children she was naturally stunning. Well-dressed, a smile that could light up a room, polite. I noticed my boss just gazing at her like a love struck teenager. At one point I was standing between them, and I could sense their chemistry, it was magnetic. Wow, I thought, his attraction for his wife hasn’t waned despite twenty years of marriage. How many couples can you say that of?

Then he went on to pastures new. One day, I received a telephone call from one of his ex colleagues that used to work with him years ago. He wanted his contact number, which I wouldn’t give without asking permission first.

I called up my old boss and he instantly said, “Abi, please don’t give him my number. That guy was married and would brag to us about the influx of women that he was cheating with behind his wife’s back, to the extent of showing us pictures.”

“I despise him, he has absolutely no respect for women, he’s not someone I ever wish to talk to let alone set eyes on again”

When my heart has been broken, I always remember his words. I will never lose hope that good guys really do exist…

My legend old boss (third on right)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

