Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Quora Question: Why it’s wrong to be alone all the time?

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be alone all of the time. Some people live their life that way, sometimes there’s perhaps a reason (triggers include: traumatic event (grief, abuse), fear of social interaction caused by anxiety of being judged (bullying) or fear of getting hurt (trust issues)), other times that’s just a person’s personality (often cruelly labelled as a ‘loner’), but they’re perfectly happy as they are.

I went through a period of wanting to be alone all of the time, but that was a reflection of how alone and unhappy I was on the inside. Personally, although I do enjoy my solitude, there comes a point where it becomes lonely not to mention boring. There’s nothing better than sharing experiences with people you love, that’s what life is all about.

Whilst it’s not wrong, it’s important to exclude depression as a cause for social isolation. I did waste two years of my life alone, that is something I don’t wish to ever repeat. I’ll never get that time back. As morbid as it may sound (you’ll only get this if you’ve lost a loved one), I’m heading in the direction of a coffin, it may be tomorrow or years from now, I have no control over my death, but one things for certain, I will have plenty of alone time then!

Thanks for the A2A, Anonymous.

Kind regards,

Abi 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

