Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Abida Ask’s Quora: How would you feel if your future wife kept her maiden name after marriage?

I’m interested to get the general consensus. When I asked male friends it seemed that it was a big “No” Their comments were, “if a woman expects half of what I own then she can’t expect to keep her maiden name.” I was told, “get used to a life not getting married if that’s your attitude” 🙂 Abi

Joel’s Answer:

When I was younger, my answer would have been a definite “no”. There was no way I would allow anyone who married me to keep their maiden name.

But over time, I came to realize that feeling, for me at least, came from a place of insecurity. I felt, for some reason, that having a woman take my name made her mine. As if I had some claim to ownership.

Once I saw that part of me, I didn’t like it. It’s rather an ugly sentiment. Don’t you think?

So, I set out to change my perspective. I reinforced my values that were built upon my desire for a partner who was a true equal to me, rather than someone who was a treated as a belonging of some sort.

It’s embarrassing for me to admit that I ever felt that way. I feel shame when I think about it. But I have changed. I no longer feel that way. Any partner of mine would be free to choose what they felt was right for them.

Jaidev’s Answer:

Changing the last name of a woman is an indication of the transference of ownership from her father to her husband.

If the man wants to “own” his woman, he probably will expect her to change her last name. Some men might expect the change to take place not due to any personal reasons, but from a wish to conform to social norms. 

There are some men who will see not changing the name as an affront to their ego. Those who see the marriage as a business transaction are probably the ones who expect the change as payment for ownership of half of what they own. If, however, he respects her and sees her as a person and not as property or a trophy, he will not force the issue.

A name is part of our identity. It is a marker of how we see ourselves; of what we see when we look in the mirror; the linchpin of our ability to say “I am”. Does marriage radically change a person’s identity overnight? I think not. Bottom line – no one owns you. Do exactly what you are comfortable with; no more, and no less. If something as trivial as a name can turn a man away, they are probably not the kind of person you want to be with.


 Shafiul’s Answer:

My wife has her maiden name. I’m married for nearly five years now. I personally don’t like it, I don’t see the need for her surname to be changed to mine. She didn’t bother either. My child carries my surname, that’s significant for me, since I carried my fathers.

Dileep’s Answer:

You can always ask her if she would like to change her name after marriage. But that’s it – that’s how far you can go with it. It is entirely up to her if she wants to do or not. If you are very particular about it, I would say clear that up before marriage. What seems unfair to you might seem fair to her. All these arguments depends on their perspective.

I personally believe if she really loves you, it would not matter if she changed her name after marriage or not. Also keep in mind that changing name does not ensure that she would be a great wife and Not changing her name will not make her unfaithful.

Again, can you say that I would be a good husband only if you agree to carry my family name? You can not. If you say you are just degrading yourself.

Having said that you can always tell her that you would like her to change her name after marriage. Leave the decision to her and save your dignity.

 Kyle’s Answer:

It depends on the guy of course, but think there are plenty like me who frankly do not care.

It is easier sharing the same name, frankly if my wife hadn’t taken mine I would have taken hers. Its not important to me which way it goes, merely that we become the same.

I know a few women who’s family’s name was significant in their industry so they keep it after marriage, the guys didn’t seem to care.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

