Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Fourth Christmas without you.

Dear Dad,

It’s been sometime since I last wrote to you.

This is the fourth Christmas without you. I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. 

I spent the day with your two beautiful grandchildren. They’re soo adorable and smart, you’d be a really proud granddad. It’s such a shame you only got to spend less than a year with one grandson. I wish we all had children sooner, so you could have enjoyed mutual time together. We of course remind them of you, and they come to your grave to visit, but they’re much too young to understand.

Christmas is the hardest time of year, that is when you used to take most of your holiday off specially so you could spend time with us. I recall you getting excited every year buying the best meat you could find for our roast dinner ๐Ÿ™‚

The best memory will always be when you bought me my Barbie house on your own (mum didn’t tell you what to buy, and they say men are useless at buying presents ;)), then you assembled it on the day when I opened the box. Then me as a kid seeing you liked your beer, so I wrapped up a couple of your own cans, and when you opened it, you had such a big smile on your face ๐Ÿ™‚

Memories you can never forget. I never thanked you for being a multicultural dad. Despite being Muslim, you made us celebrate and respect the traditions of the country that welcomed you. Your tolerance for others showed your true character as a good human being.

Merry Christmas dad. I intend on cranking up the pressure on starting a family of my own, that’s what life’s all about.

However many years will pass, you’ll never be forgotten.

Love you Lots,

Beti ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

6 Comments»

  Dr Kailash Saxena wrote @

Abi,
I read yr article about what you learnt from your father. I also am so impressed what a clear and correct thinking he impated to you in terms of religion and HUMANITY being only the real reality of life.
My views re religions and All Humans Being just MAN AND WOMEN , Boys & Girls. I WISH ALL HUMANS WAKE UP TO THIS REALITY AND STOP KILLING EACH OTHER FOR RELIGION. WISHING YOU THE V Best๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ’

  kensingtonabida wrote @

Dear Dr Saxena,

Thank you for taking the time to send me such a kind message ๐Ÿ™‚ You also share the same mindset, that we are all equal, and we should learn that’s the most important thing. I wish everyone could just learn to respect each other’s faiths, no need to kill each other.

Best wishes,

Abi

  Col anand basera wrote @

Dear Abida,
I happened to read your article in the form of a letter written to your late father on Christmas and I want to confess honestly that it brought tears to my eyes.Just as I had finished reading it ,my wife walked in and looking at me commented as to why my eyes look so red as if I was crying.Thats the effect your letter had on me .I wonder if my daughters (I have two)will share the same sentiments after I am gone and done away with.I want to express a genuine feeling and acknowledge that you write very well .Kudos and keep it up.Bye .Anand

  kensingtonabida wrote @

Dear Anand,

I was extremely touched by your message. Sorry I made your eyes red!

You are lucky to have two daughters ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure they will share the same sentiments. Often we don’t appreciate people until they’re gone.

Thank you, for the compliment ๐Ÿ™‚

Warm regards,

Abi

  Col anand basera wrote @

Hello Abida,
Thanks for your response, which as usual is extremely quick and prompt.
You don’t have to be sorry at all,in fact ,it was the power of your feelings expressed ,that brought forth the emotions.
You seem to be a prolific writer and I am sure it must be giving you immense satisfaction.I also notice that photography is also one of your passions.So is mine,though I am still trying to get grips with it.
Regards
Anand

  kensingtonabida wrote @

Hello Anand,

Yes, I do love photography, although it’s been a while since I’ve had time to purse it!

Best,

Abi


Leave a Reply

