Abida Mian's Blog

An outlier that's living, learning and being myself…

Best Pink Makeup for Asian Skintones

Contrary to a lot of makeup artists recommending darker berry shades for Asian skintones, you can actually wear pink (which in my opinion is a lot more subtle) but it’s hard-work finding those pigmented products, and below are my tried-and-tested pick of the best:

Pink Blush:

Bobbi Brown  is a well-known/respected celebrity makeup artist with her own international brand, catering for all skin-tones. Up until sixth months ago, I had been using MAC’s pink swoon blusher, and although it’s a fantastic product, its down-fall is that it’s sheertone, which means that you have to swipe a couple of times for it to show on darker skins. I’d heard of BB in many magazines and via makeup alley (brilliant website where normal people give reviews), and their own website www.bobbibrown.co.uk has a link where you can chat to a makeup artist (MUA). The MUA gave me great advice and recommended the Pale Pink Blush (09), which I purchased together with the BB Blusher Brush. On arrival, the blush looked bright in the compact, and because it’s highly pigmented, all that is required is one/two swipes giving a matte finish, and you have a very pretty doll look that lasts all day (no need to re-touch).

Bobbi Brown Pale Pink Blush 09, £16.50

Lipstick:

In my previous post, I reviewed my new favourite pink lipstick which is Clarin’s Rouge Prodige in Paradise Pink (102). Pink Lipsticks that are opaque and show on pigmented lips without it being too blue-toned can be notoriously difficult. When I came across this new product, I was impressed, the pink was a medium opaque colour with shine and good lasting power, beautiful gold packaging and a subtle fruity scent/taste. Yes, at £16, quite pricey, but I’ve tried all the major brands and this is by far the best yet!

Clarins Rouge Prodige Paradise Pink (102), £16

Nail Polish:

I’ve re-kindled my love for Chanel’s 217 Splendeur nail polish. I bought this a longtime ago, and when I got fed up of buying cheaper brands (Boots 17 & models own) that were streaky and had poor finish, I grabbed my Chanel.  We may dream of being able to afford Chanel clothing, but at least their makeup is affordable. No matter what the brand name is, what makes you re-purchase is the whole package. My experience of Chanel polishes are that they are perfect to work with, one coat of Splendeur and my nails are opaque and most imporantly streak-free. The colour is a vibrant raspberry pink (think hot pink but without the blue-tones). One word, gorgeous! If you’re looking for a good medium pink then Lancome’s 309 is excellent. I’ve yet to come across a good pale pink that isn’t streaky. I just wish Chanel would expand on their range of colours.

Chanel 217 Splendeur, £16.50

Other good product recommendations that aren’t pink, are MAC’s Select SPF15 Foundation creates great medium coverage available in a number of shades, and Clinque’s High Definition mascara.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment